BC paddler among eight named to CKC Wildwater National Team

May 10, 2018


Avery Wilkins from the Vancouver Island Whitewater Society is among the eight paddlers named to Canoe Kayak Canada’s Wildwater National Team. The were named to the team after competing at the Wildwater Canoeing National Team trials May 5-6 on the Moira River in Ontario.

The race took place on an approximately 5 km stretch of the Moira River in Roslin, Ontario. The race happened in Class 2 and Class 3 whitewater from Chisholm’s Mills to Scuttlehole Rapid.

“For the second year in a row, high water levels on the Madawaska River forced a last-minute change of venue,” said Warren Hastings, Chair of the Wildwater committee on the Whitewater Council at Canoe Kayak Canada. “There were safety concerns around a rapid called Staircase, so we moved it for our athletes’ well-being and to ensure good paddling during a period of elevated water levels.”

Just two years ago, Wilkins competed in the BC Summer Games and is now among the best young whitewater paddlers in Canada.

Four boats were qualified for both the Classic and Sprint events of the Canoe Wildwater discipline for a total of 8 different athletes.

In the C-1 Classic event, Spencer Pomeroy came first with a time of 16 min 28,45 seconds, followed by Gwyn Ashcroft who came second (17 min 34,63 secs). John Hastings came first in the K-1 Classic event with a time of 15 min, followed by Warren Hastings (15 min 15,66 secs) and Neil Gerrard (15 min 27 secs). In the Sprint event, Pomeroy won the C-1 race with a time of 93,54 seconds while John Hastings won the K-1 race with a time of 80,45 seconds.

 Name  Event  Team  Classic  Sprint
 Spencer Pomeroy  Men’s C-1  Senior Team  16:28,45  93,54 secs
 Gwyn Ashcroft  Men’s C-1  Senior Team  17:34,63  103,18 secs
 Avery Wilkins  Men’s K-1  Junior Team  17:22,00  98,21 secs
 John Hastings  Men’s K-1  Senior Team  15:00,00  80,45 secs
 Warren Hastings  Men’s K-1  Senior Team  15:15,66  84,51 secs
 Neil Gerrard  Men’s K-1  Senior Team  15:27,00  84,63 secs
 Harold Van Winssen  Men’s K-1  Senior Team  15:37,00  n.a.
 Ed Winacott  Men’s K-1  Senior Team  15:57,00  93,51 secs


The next race on the Canoe Wildwater calendar is the Whitewater National Championships taking place in Kananaskis, Alberta, from August 2 to 6.

Paddle With Us


Canoe Kayak BC is the Provincial Sport Organization for the paddle sports and actively encourages and provides opportunities to enjoy, participate and excel in them. Members include competitive athletes, developing athletes, enthusiasts, coaches, officials, administrators and supporters of the sport. The association's mission enourages and promotes personal growth and success for our members through participation and performance in paddle sports.

Contact us